Perfect Spring Curls Without the Fuss – Aqua V

Many women want to enjoy the privilege of versatility with hairstyles without having to break the bank or damage their own tresses. As a result, we may opt for extensions of some sort. I personally try to limit how often I apply heat to my hair so when I need a break, I slap on a wig. Now that we are experiencing some beautiful spring weather, many of us want to look the part without the fuss.

I have recently enjoyed playing with one of my latest units, Aqua-V for two reasons:

  1. She is curly, therefore perfect for spring.
  2. She is a Lace Front wig, so I do not have to worry about styling my own hair.

She is a synthetic, 20 inch, spiral curled, layered Natural Baby Hair Lace Front Wig designed with new future fibers that can be styled between 356 and 392 degrees Fahrenheit. I always have my reservations as far as wigs go because not all wigs are created equal. I will admit that I am impressed with Aqua-V. When the packaging described the hair as having “naturally embedded ‘baby hairs’” and went on to mention “no one will know you’re wearing a wig-even you!,” I had to put it to the test. After all, I do love a good challenge.

I proceeded by cutting the lace all the way back to the hairline. Be careful if you choose to purchase this unit because the baby hairs will get in the way from time to time. I began to fit it for my head and it was a nice, snug fit. Usually, it is advised to use makeup to blend into the lace for a “natural look,” but this unit looked fine without the aid of makeup. I decided that this wasn’t enough so for the final test, I took pictures with a flash. As a general rule, the flash reveals all hair secrets and is an indicator of how well the lace blends with the skin. I held the camera approximately one arm’s length away from my face and snapped away. Fortunately, the hair passed the “flash test,” the lace was almost perfectly hidden at close range.

Now, many of us lead busy lives, and we need hair that can keep up with our pace. This unit comes with detailed instructions; however, there is a key piece of advice that wasn’t given in the instructions. Yes, it is wise to comb hair with a wide-toothed comb, but there is a simpler alternative; finger combing. I finger comb this unit every morning, and hang her neatly at night. This has been going on for about a week now and I have not noticed any issues with the hair. Finger combing definitely allows me to keep the unit in good condition and maintain the curl definition. If I feel like a curl is a little fuzzy, I just stroke it with water to tame it.

Overall, I am pleased with my experience with Aqua-V. The curls are perfect, the snug fit coupled with almost undetectable baby hairs create an illusion of tresses that are growing out of my scalp and I am convinced that I will have many style options when she loses her curls. This has been one of my favorite looks for the spring and the fact that I don’t have to sit in front of the mirror for hours to achieve these curls is a bonus.

Written by Luyando M. Handia for the Vivica A. Fox Hair Collection

Connect with her via her personal: Twitter  Facebook  Youtube  Blog  WordPress Blog 

2 thoughts on “Perfect Spring Curls Without the Fuss – Aqua V

Leave a Reply

